Mylanqolia’s Short Review on the Herbal Essences Fresh Balance Clarifying Shampoo for normal to oily hair [Eng/ Ger]

1 May

* Tested product: Herbal Essences Fresh Balance Clarifying Shampoo for normal to oily hair [comes in a green bottle]

Herbal Essences SSR Shampoo1

* Received through: purchase
* Reason for buying it: I have tested a squillion or let’s say a vast number of shampoos against oily hairs over the years but none convinced me. I admit that I’ve bought this product just out of desperation.
* Available at: dm/ Germany
* Price: 1, 75 €
* Producer: Procter&Gamble UK, Weybridge, Surrey, KT 13 OXP, UK; Made in France
* Animal experiments: no (according to the German Herbal Essences website: http://www.herbalessences.de/faq/index.php )
* Content: 250 ml
* Date of expiry: 12 months after opening
* Promise: gently purifies hair by sweeping away excess oil and styling build up, clear the head with refreshing potion with icy pineapple and cotton extracts
* Colour: a very transparent light green
* Measures:
à Length of the plastic bottle: approx. 19, 4 cm
à Opening: approx 0, 7 cm (width) x 0,2 cm (height)

Herbal Essences SSR Shampoo2

* Odour: fruity, sweet
* Consistency:
à Shampoo: jelly-like, easy to dilute with water
à Foam: fine, a mediocre development of foam
* My hair type: oily, fine, flat, no volume, straight
* Experiences: I have to admit that I was very, very, very sceptical before opening the green bottle and applying a nut-sized amount of shampoop to my wet hair. Frankly speaking, I had too many bad experiences with diverse shampoos that believing in a wonder seems to be hard to me. Regardless of my sad shampoo history, I worked it into my hair and rinsed it with water afterwards. After letting my hair dry (I don’t use a hair dryer very often) I could feel that it was squeaky clean, fuller, firmer und smooth. Also it looked shiny and healthy. But I wasn’t convinced yet that this could prevent my scalp from getting itchy, flaky and oily after some hours. Fortunately, I was wrong. My hair needn’t be washed the next morning. It was still clean and didn’t appeared to be dunked into a big chip pan over night. Furthermore, my scalp wasn’t irritated by the formula. The fact that I don’t have to wash my hair every day makes this shampoo to one of my favourites.
* Improvement: no
* Repurchase: yes
* Recommendation: yes (especially to those of you who also have to struggle with oily hair)
* Important Note: If you are a fighter for animal rights who don’t trust brands such as P&G you don’t have to feel addressed by my review.
* Overall Grade: A- excellent

Herbal Essences SSR Shampoo3

**************************************************************************************************************************************

Auf Deutsch:

* Getestetes Produkt: Herbal Essences Strahlend Sauber Reinigungsshampoo für schnell fettendes Haar [in grüner Flasche]
* Erhalten durch: Kauf
* Kaufgrund: Ich habe über die Jahre Abermillionen oder besser gesagt eine Unmenge von Shampoos ausprobiert, die mich nicht überzeugen konnten. Zugegeben: Dieses Produkt ist ein glatter Verzweiflungskauf.
* Erhältlich bei: dm/ D
* Preis: 1, 75 €
* Hersteller: Procter&Gamble UK, Weybridge, Surrey, KT 13 OXP, UK; Hergestellt in Frankreich
* Tierversuche: nein (laut der dt. Herbal Essences-Website: http://www.herbalessences.de/faq/index.php )
* Inhalt: 250 ml
* Haltbarkeitsdatum: 12 Monate nach Anbruch
* Versprechen:
* Farbe: ein sehr transparentes Hellgrün
* Maße:
à Länge der Plastikflasche: ca. 12, 4 cm
à Öffnung: ca. 0, 3 cm
* Geruch: fruchtig, süß
* Konsistenz:
à Shampoo: gelartig, einfach mit Wasser zu verdünnen
à Schaum: fein, mittelmäßige Schaumentwicklung
* Mein Haartyp: ölig, fein, platt, volumenfrei, gerade
* Erfahrungen: Ich muss zugeben, dass ich vor dem Öffnen und Auftrag einer nussgroßen Menge Shampoo auf meinem nassen Haar äußerst skeptisch war. Offen gesagt, hatte ich zu viele schlechte Erfahrungen mit diversen Shampoos gemacht, dass es mir nicht leicht fiel, an ein Wunder zu glauben. Ungeachtet meiner traurigen Shampoo-Geschichte massierte ich es in mein Haar und spülte es im Anschluss mit Wasser aus. Nachdem ich mein Haar trocknen ließ, konnte ich spüren, dass es quietschend sauber, voller, fester und weich war. Es wirkte auch gesund und glänzend. Aber ich war noch nicht überzeugt, dass dies den Juckreiz meiner Kopfhaut, Schuppen- und Fettbildung verhindern könnte. Glücklicherweise lag ich damit falsch. Mein Haar musste am darauffolgenden Tag nicht gewaschen werden. Es war noch sauber und sah nicht so aus, als wäre es über Nacht in eine große Fritteuse getunkt worden. Des Weiteren wurde meine Kopfhaut nicht von der Formel gereizt. Die Tatsache, dass ich meine Haare nicht jeden Tag waschen muss, macht dieses Shampoo zu einem meiner Favoriten.
* Verbesserung: nein
* Nachkauf: ja
* Empfehlung: ja (insbesondere an diejenigen unter Euch, die auch mit fettigem Haar zu kämpfen haben)
* Wichtige Randbemerkung: Wenn du ein Kämpfer für Tierrechte bist und Marken, wie P&G, kein Vertrauen entgegen bringen kannst, solltest du dich von meiner Rezension nicht angesprochen fühlen.
* Gesamtnote: sehr gut

4 Responses to “Mylanqolia’s Short Review on the Herbal Essences Fresh Balance Clarifying Shampoo for normal to oily hair [Eng/ Ger]”

  1. gio May 1, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Thanks for the review. I have oily hair too and this sounds just like what I need. I’ll give it a try.🙂

  2. beautyjagd May 1, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Ich bin ja bei Herbal Essences immer etwas skeptisch. Schon weil der name Kräuter suggiert und dann kommen vor allem SLS und Silikone. Aber wenn es das Nachfetten verhindert, ist das natürlich super🙂

  3. boble May 3, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    you shouldnt use this too often as it may dry out your scalp causing itchy

  4. mylanqolia May 12, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    @ Gio: I hope it works for you as well. I’m still very happy with it.

    @ Beautyjagd: Ich bin mit SLS und Silkon großgeworden. Für eine Zeit musste ich sogar aufgrund eines massiven Schuppenproblem ein extrem aggressives Shampoo aus der Apotheke verwenden. Sobald ich versuche, Shampoos mit besseren INCIS zu verwenden, lassen mich meine Haare im Stich und meine Kopfhaut macht mir den Garaus. Ich denke mal, dass ich zur Fraktion gehöre, die ausgrechnet den bösen Inhaltsstoffen weniger kritisch gegenüber steht. Evil me! Man möge den Scheiterhaufen errichten!🙂

    @ Boble: Don’t worry, dear! It doesn’t dry out my scalp. I use it for more than a year and I’m still very happy with it.

Leave a Reply

