My Earring Collection

11 Mar

I always wanted to take pictures of my humble earring collection. As you maybe know I’m obsessed with earrings beside make up. I have to admit that I mainly own fashion jewellerey as the designs vary from super cute to spectacular. Unfortunately, the quality isn’t consistenly overwhelming but the depicted exemplars are mostly old. I‘ ve bought just a few pairs lately as I feel that 93 are way too many for one person. Guess what! I’ve already thrown some broken or very old earrings into the dustbin, hence, my collection was much bigger last year. But I don’t dispose of each old and broken pair. I take them to pieces and keep the artificial gems or pearls to create new earrings or a necklace. Recycling rocks!

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Auf Deutsch:

Ich hatte immer schon vor, Fotos meiner bescheidenen Ohrringsammlung zu machen. Wie Ihr eventuell wisst, bin ich neben Make-up von Ohrringen besessen. Ich muss gestehen, dass ich vornehmlich Modeschmuck besitze, weil die Designs von supersüß bis spektakulär reichen. Leider ist die Qualität nicht durchgehend berauschend, doch die abgebildeten Stücke sind meistens alt. Ich habe neuerdings nur wenige Paare dazugekauft, da ich davon überzeugt bin, dass 93 viel zu viele für eine Person ist. Stellt Euch vor! Ich habe bereits einige beschädigte oder sehr alte Ohrringe dem Mülleimer übergeben. Demzufolge war meine Sammlung letztes Jahr um einiges größer. Allerdings entsorge ich nicht jedes alte oder defekte Paar. Ich nehme es auseinander und behalte die künstlichen Steine oder Perlen zur Herstellung neuer Ohrringe oder einer Kette. Recyceln rockt!

11 Responses to “My Earring Collection”

  1. Myone March 11, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    Wow, das ist ne ordentliche Sammlung!!!

  2. Greta March 11, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Hi dear!
    You see, I’m always following your blog, even if I don’t leave many comments (my bad!).
    I totally love your earrings collection. I’m addicted to earrings too (especially those with charms, pendants and so on). Just a small question: where do you keep them? I’m asking because I’ve dealt with the same problem for years and I haven’t found the perfect solution yet.
    Hugs from Italy *

    • Aya March 11, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      Hi Greta,
      I stapled a part of a ‘net’ to keep mosquitoes out (a mosquito net?) to the side of an open rack in my bathroom. Then you can hang the earrings in the holes. It was a really good solution for me. I hope this helps !🙂

      • Greta March 26, 2011 at 7:51 am #

        Woah, thanks, it deginetely helps a lot!🙂

  3. gio March 11, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Wow, you have a gorgeous collection!

  4. Aya March 11, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Nice collection! I am also a great fan of earrings, but I forced myself to stop buying them, because I have waaaay to many🙂

  5. mylanqolia March 13, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    @ My: Yep, aber es waren letztes Jahr im Dezember noch 125 Ohrringe!*shock*

    @ Greta: Don’t worry, hun! I don’t force anyone to write comments, esp. if they’re as busy as me.😉 It’s great that you’re also a lover of earrings. Well, I have a similiar way as Aya to store them. Just watch this helpful vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0brBMHMwWpQ
    Btw, there’s another great idea to store them: http://de.dawanda.com/product/13864986-Schallplatten-Ohrringhalter-Recycling

    @ Gio: Yes, but I try to keep the amount under 100 pairs this year.🙂

    @ Aya: It’s the smartest thing to do. But it’s difficult to overcome the temptation, right?😉

  6. pimpernell March 19, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Oooh, I love every single one them, so you completely have the same taste as me!

    • mylanqolia March 20, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

      Yes, when having visited your blog I’ve also noticed that you like flamboyant (in a good sense) earrings.😉

  7. Andreia April 25, 2011 at 4:07 am #

    omg so many😀 I love earrings as well!
    xoxo

    • mylanqolia April 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      Ooo, this is great! Hope to see them on your blog very soon.😉

Leave a Reply

