Out of the Dark

24 Jul

Hiya my dear readers! How’s life? Have you missed me? Good news: I’m back in the virtual reality. To be honest, I had a really bad conscience of not updating my small blog and of not responding to your always welcome comments. Ah, well, at last the trouble with the net connection is over. But there’s another problem concerning my pictures.

Photobucket sent me this alerting message on Tuesday:

Every free account with Photobucket is allotted 10 GB of monthly bandwidth and our records show that you have less than 3 GB of bandwidth left to your account.[..] Upgrading isn’t mandatory, but if you exceed the free allotted bandwidth remaining for your account, your files will be temporarily disabled and replaced with a “Photobucket Bandwidth Exceeded” icon for the remainder of the month’s cycle. Your bandwidth usage will reset to zero on the 27th of next month’s cycle based on your original registration date. All your image and video files will be reactivated at that time…

What the heck?! I only show my pictures at my blog, so why could I exceed the monthly bandwidth? The answer is pretty easy. Other sites (mainly spam ones) use my pictures. Damn phantoms! Here’s one of them:

 http://how2women.com/How-to-make/how-to-make-a-fake-tattoo/

I don’t want to upgrade though it might be ridiculously cheap. But in the end it’s rubbish as I don’t do any professional photography. This is just a private blog about cheap drugstore cosmetics that’s addresses lovely ladies with similiar interests. Honestly, I’ve never dreamt of being a victim of spammers. If you have any helping advice for me, please drop a line! Thanks so much, sweeties!

Does anyone know by chance how I can stop them to use my pictures? They have broken the rules because they didn’t ask for permission. It’s annoying and I could despair.

************************************************************************************************************************************

Auf Deutsch: Hallöchen meine lieben Leser! Wie geht’s? Habt Ihr mich vermisst? Gute Neuigkeiten: Ich bin wieder in die virtuelle Realität zurückgekehrt. Ehrlich gesagt, hatte ich schon eine schlechtes Gewissen, mein kleines Blog nicht mehr zu updaten und Eure stets willkommenen Kommentare zu beantworten. Nun gut, letztendlich ist der Ärger mit der Internetverbindung vorbei. Aber es hat sich ein weiteres Problem bezüglich meiner Fotos ergeben. Photobucket sendete mir diese alarmierende Nachricht am Dienstag:

Jedes Gratiskonto bei Photobucket verfügt monatlich über eine 10 GB-Bandbreite. Unsere Aufzeichnungen zeigen, dass auf deinem Konto weniger als 3 GB der Bandbreite übrig sind. […] Das Upgrade ist nicht obligatorisch, doch wenn du die frei verfügbare, noch verbleibende Bandbreite überschreitest, werden deine Dateien vorübergehend deaktiviert und mit einem “Photobucket-Bandbreite überschritten”-Zeichen bis zum Ende des monatlichen Turnusses versehen. Deine Bandbreitennutzung wird am 27. jedes Monatsturnusses, basierend auf deinem Anmeldedatum, auf Null zurückgesetzt. Deine Bilder- und Videodateien werden zu dem Zeitpunkt reaktiviert sein…

Was zum Teufel?! Ich zeige de Fotos höchstens auf meinem Blog, wie konnte ich also die monatliche Bandbreite überspannen? Die Antwort ist ziemlich pupsig. Andere Seiten (vorwiegend die Müllkategorie) nutzen meine Bilder. Verdammte Phantome! Der oben angegbene Link führt dich zu einem von ihnen. Weiß rein zufällig jemand, wie ich das Benutzen meiner Fotos unterbinden kann? Schließlich haben sie sich nicht regelkonform verhalten, weil sie nicht nach meiner Erlaubnis gefragt haben. Es regt mich auf und ich könnte verzweifeln.

Ich möchte nicht upgraden, obwohl es nicht allzu teuer ist. Dennoch ist es letzten Endes für die Katze, weil ich keine professionellen Fotos mache. Dies ist nur ein privat geführtes Blog über günstige Drogeriekosmetik, das sich mitunter an liebe Damen mit ähnlichen Interessengebieten richtet. Ehrlich, ich habe niemals davon geträumt, ein Opfer von Spammern zu sein. Falls Ihr einen hilfreichen Tipp habt, solltet Ihr unbedingt kommentieren. Vielen Dank, Ihr Süßen!

4 Responses to “Out of the Dark”

  1. Gejba July 24, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    That is not good news. I never experienced those kind of problem so I’m sorry to say that I don’t have any helpful advice.😦

    • mylanqolia July 25, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

      Ah, well, it’s a pity that you haven’t any good advice for me but thanks for your comment anyway!🙂

  2. gio July 25, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    That’s awful that they stole your pictures and bandwith like that. You should contact the owner and ask for your pictures to be taken down. If they refuse, send them a DMCA complaint and contact their host. Hopefully this will help.

  3. mylanqolia July 31, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Thanks so much, Gio! I’ve already contaced him but I had no success as the pics are still there. Unfortunately sending a DMCA complaint isn’t that easy. The best thing is to remove the pics on photobucket.😦

Leave a Reply

