The Sleek Series: On Acid I *pic heavy*

8 May

Lovelies, honestly, I can’t comprehend the huge enthusiasm for the Acid palette. Actually, in my opinion this palette is totally overrated. Ok, ok, I admit that it offers the wonderful opportunity to play with neon colours but honestly, I’m no avid fan of them. Of course, I’m a nostalgic person missing the good old times. The 80’s were experimental and loud. I still reminisce about the smileys, the neon clothing, aerobics, sweatbands, Madonna or Dirty Dancing. 

But it’s difficult to recreate those feelings with the help of some eyeshadows, which aren’t easy to apply. Yep, you heard right, I had massive problems to do my eye make up with them. And no, it doesn’t mean that I don’t like any shade of the palette. The shimmery colours are fabulous as always. But the mattes… They are a challenge I couldn’t meet. The colour payoff is average. The result becomes blotchy and transparent if just one coat is applied on a standard primer. Maybe my primer works plain gross. Who knows… Frankly speaking, it would heave been more clever to use a white base at the beginning. But I wasn’t that bright. I failed. Why, Mylanqolia, why? To show my lovely readers that learning is a process of trial and error. :-) Oh, well, I’d love to do another fun look… But time is money.😦

*********************************************************************************

Auf Deutsch: Ihr Hübschen, Hand aufs Herz, ich kann keineswegs die enorme Schwärmerei für die Acid Palette nachvollziehen. Tasächlich wird sie m.E.n. überschätzt. Zugegeben, sie gewährt einem die wunderbare Möglichkeit, mit Neonfarben zu spielen, allerdings bin ich kein großer Fan von ihnen. Natürlich bin ich eine Nostalgikerin, die gerne auf die guten alten Zeiten zurückblickt. Die 80er Jahre waren experimentell und grell. Ich schwelge in Erinnerungen an Smileys, neonfarbene Kleidung, Aerobic, Schweißbänder, Madonna und Dirty Dancing.

Doch es ist schwer, diese Gefühle mithife von Lidschatten, die beim Auftrag herumzicken, wiederzubeleben. Ja, Ihr habt richtig gehört, ich hatte massive Probleme, damit ein AMU auf die Beine zu bringen. Und nein, es bedeutet nicht, dass mir zwangsläufig keine Farbe der Palette zusagt. Die irisierenden Lidschattennuancen sind so phänomenal wie immer, aber die matten… Sie gleichen einer Herausforderung, der ich mich nicht stellen kann. Denn die Pigmentierung ist durchschnittlich. Mit einer Schicht erreicht man nur ein fleckiges und durchschimmerndes Resultat. Vielleicht ist meine Grundierung einfach nur grottenschlecht. Wer weiß… Ganz unter uns: Es wäre eventuell klüger gewesen, von vornherein eine weiße Basis zu verwenden. Doch ich war nicht so aufgeweckt. Ich habe versagt. Warum nur, Mylanqolia? Um meinen lieben Lesern zu demonstrieren, dass dem Lernen der Prozess von Versuch und Irrtum zugrunde liegt.🙂 Hach ja, ich würde liebendgern ein neues Spaß-AMU erstellen. Aber Zeit ist Geld.😦

 

I used/ Ich habe benutzt:

  • u.m.a. Eye Color Base
  • Sleek Make Up i-divine Mineral Based Eyeshadow Palette Acid 570 [highlighted/ markiert]
  • P2 Intensive Khol Eyeliner 090 Stylish Great Britain
  • u.m.a. Eyeliner 06 creamy beige
  • Catrice Allround Mascara wp 010 Blackest Black

*flash*

*flash*

5 Responses to “The Sleek Series: On Acid I *pic heavy*”

  1. Helena (XOXO Parisky) May 8, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Gorgeous palette! And I like the color combo of your makeup🙂

  2. JuJu May 9, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    Ich habe jetzt einen von den NYX Jumbo Eyepencils in weiß, also MILK bestellt, liegt fein säuberlich in meiner Gewinnspiel Schublade. ^^ Den gibts dann denke ich nächste Woche, wenn ich Bio geschrieben habe zu gewinnen😉 Auf das die Farben dann vielleicht zähmbar werden…

  3. gio May 9, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    This is so pretty, I love the colors you used. I agree with you that the neon shades in the Acid palette aren’t very easy to work with but I still love this palette to bits. Not many brands offer neon shadows, esp at such a low price, so I was very happy that Sleek came out with this palette even though it takes some work to apply them.

  4. mylanqolia May 15, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    @ Helena: Thanks, dear! I’ll defoo use it for a fun look I have in mind.🙂

    @ JuJu: Ich bin gespannt auf dein Gewinnspiel!!!🙂

    @ Gio: Thanks so much! Actually, there are some drugstore brands that sell neon colours now. I know about Basic Concept’s LE (I’ve already seen some pics) and Hema (there’s a neon LE, too). I’m very interested to testing the Basic Concept ones now but the LE isn’t here yet. As for the Sleek e/s, I’ll use a creamy base now. It’s the only way to work with the matte neons (such a paradoxon, right?).🙂

  5. gio May 15, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    I don’t really know those brands to be honest, but it’s good to know that more brands are coming out with neon eyeshadows. Now, if only they could release them here, I’d be very happy.🙂

Leave a Reply

