The mirror of insomnia

3 Apr

Hiya sweethearts! How’s life going? I’m sure you’re already bored of this stagnant blog, right? Well, I wish I could live another life but well, reality sucks.🙂 Anyways, I’m still alive and that’s the most important thing. Ok, feeling alive doesn’t mean that I feel happy and confident but does it matter today or tomorrow? All is changing and fleeting. But excuse my intrinsic pessimism, I don’t want to destroy your spring fever! Instead of that, I’d like to show you my latest fake tattoo (made with Catrice, Fabiani, Claire’s Cosmetics and Beauty UK) in combination with a wonderful poem by Percey Bysshe Shelley. Some words on the tattoo: I was inspired by Leonardo da Vinci’s mirror writing and Keith Haring’s slogan of his poster “Fill Your Head With Fun” from 1988. So, this is my subcultural attempt of mingleing past and modern art. I’m mad, I know. If you have a mirror, please try to decode the writing. ;-) But don’t forget to read this fantastic poem at first!

Auf Deutsch: Hallöchen Ihr Schatzis! Wie geht’s? Ich bin mir sicher, dass Ihr breits von meinem stagnierten Blog gelangweilt seid, was? Nun, ich wünschte, ich könnte das Leben einer Anderen führen, doch leider ist die Realität bescheiden.🙂 Jedenfalls weile ich noch unter den Lebenden und dies erscheint mir das Wichtigste zu sein. Allerdings ist Letzteres mit dem Eingeständnis verknüpft, das Leben nicht gleichbedeutend mit Glück & Zuversicht ist. Doch fällt dies heute oder morgen ins Gewicht? Alles unterliegt dem Gesetz des Wandels und der Vergänglichkeit. Entschuldigt bitte meinen offensichtlichen Pessimismus, mit dem ich Euch in keinster Weise Eure Frühlingsgefühle zunichte machen möchte. Stattdesse möchte ich mein neuestes Fake Tattoo, erstellt mit Catrice, Fabiani, Claire’s Cosmetics und Beauty UK, in Kombination mit einem wundervollen Gedicht von Shelley präsentieren. Kurz zum Tattoo: Meine Inspiratiosnquellen waren diesmal Leonardo da Vincis Spiegelschrift und ein Keith Haring-Zitat des 1988 entstandenen Posters “Fill Your Head With Fun”. Man kann demnach mein Werk als subkulturellen Versuchs einer Synthese von klassischer und moderner Kunst verstehen. Ich bin wahsinnig – ich weiß. Falls Ihr übrigens einen Spiegel griffbereit habt, solltet Ihr ihn zur Dechiffrierung des Geschriebenen nutzen.😉 Aber vergesst nicht, zuvor etwas Lyrik zu konsumieren (ohne Übersetzung)!

Love’s Philosophy

The fountains mingle with the river
And the rivers with the ocean,
The winds of heaven mix for ever
With a sweet emotion;
Nothing in the world is single,
All things by a law divine
In one another’s being mingle –
Why not I with thine?

See the mountains kiss high heaven,
And the waves clasp one another;
No sister-flower would be forgiven
If it disdain’d its brother;
And the sunlight clasps the earth,
And the moonbeams kiss the sea –
What are all these kissings worth,
If thou kiss not me?

P.B. Shelley

3 Responses to “The mirror of insomnia”

  1. gio April 4, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    This is so pretty and I love the concept! I think you did a great job at mixing past and modern art. Also, the idea of writing in such a way that you need a mirror to read it is genious. I love the message you wrote and I couldn’t agree with it more.

  2. Maggie Makeup Addict April 6, 2010 at 2:58 am #

    Oh, how inspiring! I love the idea! Where is this one placed?
    I’m thinking it would be SO much fun faking a sleeve, but it seems a bit troublesome to do on my own arm, hah!

  3. mylanqolia April 11, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    @ Gio: Thanks so much, dear, that you like it! But I just used two ideas of two amazing artists in a postmodernistic way.🙂

    @ Maggie: As for the sleeve: Why not asking a skilled mate? By the way, thanks, hon! I placed it on the inner-side forearm because my skin is very even and sleek there. I think it’d be great if I’ve used tattoo pens. Maybe I should start to buy some because I dream of painting someone’s body. Bodypainting must be ace!

Leave a Reply

